Christmas letters

mother-child-and-maple-leaf-copy.jpg

From P

Dear L,

I hope that all’s well in Montreal. By the way, just to let you know that you’re not missing much in this town here’s a letter to the editor that was in today’s Calgary Sun. It reflects the “New” Spirit of Calgary.

KINDNESS DOESN’T MATTER

Re: “If you donate, I’ll cut the melodrama,” Ian Robinson, Nov. 24.) Telling ghastly tales of Christmas woe doesn’t make me teary eyed enough to open my wallet. In fact, I roll my eyes at such drivel during this time of the year. Remember, no amount of kindness will make any difference to people in need, as evident by the continued existence of such charities. Logically, if charities did make a difference, there would be a gradual decline for such services, not more of them.

Dan Peters

Be thankful that you fled this greedy city.

Blessing on your forehead for Christmas.

P

From me

Hello and Christmas Greetings to you too P!

Your message, with the quoted letter from the Sun, just about made me cry. Calgary’s a contradictory tension of Social Darwinism and people who consider themselves to be Christians. They’re often Biblical literalists, but leave out all that love and compassion and equality stuff, which is what their leader stressed, saying the poor will always be among us.

I like Christmas because we tell ourselves our most dearly loved story, where divinity reveals itself to poor humble people and animals. And I believe that we’re never going to have peace in our psyches, or peace on earth, until we embrace the poor and the humble and the voiceless.

Bruce Cockburn says in his song, The Cry of a Tiny Babe,

And there are others who know about this miracle birth
The humblest of people catch a glimpse of their worth
For it isn’t to the palace that the Christ child comes
But to shepherds and street people, hookers and bums

Peace, happiness, health and every good thing to you this holiday season, P.

L

From P

Thanks so much for your beautiful response which outlines the real meaning of Christmas. Forgive me for my delay in responding.

I was reading the Calgary Sun today and I guess that there is “some” hope. There’s a letter printed in response to the terse one that I forwarded to you.

PITY THE FOOL

Dan Peter’s letter (Kindness Doesn’t Matter, Dec. 1) is among the most ignorant, offensive, and arrogant letters I have ever read. I could attempt to explain the need for charity and the need for charity this time of year, but as shown in his letter, ignorance is much more powerful than any reason you could produce. Thankfully, many Calgarians know better.

Ken Moffatt

(Let’s hope he never needs help.)

As I mentioned, there is hope.

All the best

P

Leave a comment